Computer Games Workshop at IJCAI 2016, Saturday July 9th 2016

It is planned to publish the proceedings with Springer in their Communications in Computer and Information Science series CCIS


09h00-09h30 A Rollout-Based Search Algorithm Unifying MCTS and Alpha-Beta, Hendrik Baier.

09h30-10h00 Clustering-Based Online Player Modeling, Jason M. Bindewald, Gilbert L. Peterson, and Michael E. Miller.

10h00-10h30 Nested Rollout Policy Adaptation with Selective Policies, Tristan Cazenave.

10h30-11h00 Coffee Break

11h00-11h30 Deep or Wide? Learning Policy and Value Neural Networks for Combinatorial Games, Stefan Edelkamp.

11h30-12h00 Semantic Classification of Utterances in a Language-driven Game, Kellen Gillespie, Michael W. Floyd, Matthew Molineaux, Swaroop S. Vattam, and David W. Aha.

12h00-12h30 Comparison of Rapid Action Value Estimation Variants for General Game Playing, Chiara F. Sironi and Mark H. M. Winands.

12h30-14h00 Lunch Break

14h00-14h30 High-Diversity Monte-Carlo Tree Search, Tristan Cazenave and Stefan Edelkamp.

14h30-15h00 Learning from the memory of Atari 2600, Jakub Sygnowski and Henryk Michalewski.

15h00-15h30 AI Wolf Contest -Development of Game AI using Collective Intelligence-, Fujio Toriumi, Hirotaka Osawa, Michimasa Inaba, Daisuke Katagami, Kosuke Shinoda, and Hitoshi Matsubara.

15h30-16h00 Coffee Break

16h00-16h30 Integrating Factorization Ranked Features in MCTS: an Experimental Study, Chenjun Xiao and Martin Muller.

16h30-17h00 NeuroHex: A Deep Q-learning Hex Agent, Kenny Young, Gautham Vasan, and Ryan Hayward.


A workshop on computer games is to be held at IJCAI 2016 in New York City, USA. The topics of the workshop concern all aspects of artificial intelligence for computer games. This includes :

Important dates

Extended Paper Submission Deadline: April 25th 2016

Acceptance Notification: May, 25th 2016

Final Papers: June, 8th 2016

Paper Submission Requirements

Papers of 10 to 15 pages in LNCS format are preferred. The file format for submission is PDF. Submitted papers should be sent to

Tentative Program Committee

Christopher Archibald, Mississippi State University

Yngvi Bjornsson, Reykjavik University

Bruno Bouzy, University Paris Descartes

Tristan Cazenave, University Paris Dauphine (Co-chair)

Stefan Edelkamp, University of Bremen (Co-chair)

Ryan Hayward, University of Alberta

Hiroyuki Iida, JAIST

Nicolas Jouandeau, University Paris 8

Jialin Liu, University of Essex

Richard Lorentz, California State University

Simon Lucas, University of Essex

Jean Mehat, University Paris 8

Martin Mueller, University of Alberta

Thomas Runarsson, University of Iceland

Abdallah Saffidine, University of New South Wales

Nathan Sturtevant, University of Denver

Olivier Teytaud, University Paris Sud

Julian Togelius, New York University

Mark Winands, Maastricht University (Co-chair)

Shi-Jim Yen, National Dong Hwa University